Universities Authorized to Operate in Kenya

The Commission for University Education (CUE) was established under the Universities Act, No. 42 of 2012, as the successor to the Commission for Higher Education. It is the Government agency mandated to regulate university education in Kenya.

The Commission has made great strides in ensuring the maintenance of standards, quality and relevance in all aspects of university education, training and research. The Commission continues to mainstream quality assurance practices in university education by encouraging continuous improvement in the quality of universities and programmes.

The Universities Regulations, 2014 were gazetted on 12th June 2014 and are currently in force. All stakeholders of university education are being advised to familiarise themselves and strictly adhere to the provisions of the Universities Regulations, 2014.

In line with Section 28 (4) of the Act, CUE shall cause to be published, the list of universities accredited to undertake university education in Kenya. See the list of accredited universities in Kenya here:


The Commission for University Education will close down all institutions offering university education without the authority of the Commission.

All foreign universities that are collaborating with institutions in Kenya to offer university education should apply to the Commission for University Education for authority to collaborate. Reference should be made to the Universities Regulations, 2014.

Recognition of degree qualifications offered by foreign universities should also be sought for from the Commission.

Members of the public are hereby being requested to report any suspicious institutions to:


Commission Secretary

P.O. Box 54999-00200

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


All information received will be handled in strict confidence.

Contact Us

Commission for University Education

Red Hill Road, off Limuru Road, Gigiri

P.O. Box 54999 – 00200, Nairobi, Kenya.

Talk to us

phone 020–7205000, 0726-445566, 

0717-445566, 0780-656575 

email info@cue.or.ke



Find us

Copyright © 2020 Commission for University Education. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU General Public License.