A delegation from the Ugandan Parliament conducted a study visit of the Commission for University Education (CUE) on 27th March 2019 to gain an insight into the Commission mandate, operations, legislative and regulations framework and operations.

The Ugandan team drawn from the Committee on Education and Sports were received by a section of Top Management (TMT) and Commission Management Board (CMB) members who took them through quality assurance and other operational processes of the Commission as enshrined in their respective functional areas.


               Part of the Top Management (TMT) receives the Uganda Education Committee and team at the CEO’s Office

While receiving the guests on behalf of the Commission Secretary, Prof Walter Oyawa, the Deputy Commission Secretary, Administration & Finance, noted that the Commission had, over the past three decades of its existence, been a major contributor to the national development agenda by regulating and assuring quality of higher/university education in Kenya.

Prof. Oyawa highlighted the Commission’s functional areas of Accreditation; Quality Audit; Policy Advisories; Information Resources, Planning, Research and Resource Mobilization; Licensing of Student Recruitment Agencies; approval for Collaborations;  Standardization, Recognition and Equation of Qualifications.

“We consider our brothers and sisters as partners in the development of higher education in the region, and are cognizant of the fact that Uganda has played a pivotal role in efforts towards the integration of the East African region,”

The DCS, Accreditation, Prof. Grace Njoroge said the Commission was pleased to play host to the members of the Committee as it afforded both parties the ability to share experiences, best practices and initiatives.

Prof. Njoroge took the team through the Accreditation processes, emphasizing the provisions of section 24 of the Universities Act of 2012 that provided for the establishment of specialized degree awarding institutions, including research institutions, the National Open University, and institutions envisaged to offer programmes of strategic national importance.


A section of Top Management (TMT) and Commission Management Board (CMB) during the meeting with the Ugandan Education Committee members in the boardroom

The visiting team was led by Hon. John Ntamuhira Twesigye who shared their country’s experiences and milestones in higher education as well as the role of the Committee viz-a-viz other sector players.

The other Committee members were: Hon. Margaret Baba Diri, Hon. Margaret Rwabushaija, Hon. Geoffrey Macho, Hon. Ismael Orot. Others in the delegation were John Wafula (Logistics Officer, Uganda High Commission), Mohamed Rukidi Mpuga (Clerk of the Committee) and Susan Apai (aide to one of the Hon. Members).

Commission officers present at the meeting were Prof. Jackson Too, Head of Research and Development, Mrs. Lynette G. Kisaka, Head of Quality Audit , representing the Deputy Commission Secretary, Quality Audit and Standards , Mr. Hezron Njoroge, Head of Internal Audit & Compliance  and Dr. Kiarie Ngugi, Assistant Commission Secretary, Institutional Accreditation.

The Commission has received delegates from including Southern Sudan, Malawi, Nigeria, Somaliland, Botswana, Lesotho who aim to learn from Kenya’s vast experience in quality assurance in university education.


Contact Us

Commission for University Education

Red Hill Road, off Limuru Road, Gigiri

P.O. Box 54999 – 00200, Nairobi, Kenya.

Talk to us

phone 020–7205000, 0726-445566, 

0717-445566, 0780-656575 

email info@cue.or.ke



Find us

Copyright © 2019 Commission for University Education. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU General Public License.